Masterminds and Wingmen

Chris Blohm & Andy Lee with Kindergarten boysWhen I found out that my first child was going to be a boy, I breathed an audible sigh of relief. I naively thought that because I was a male I would have some kind of unique insight and gift that would help me be the best parent for my son.  What I’ve discovered is that while being a man does provide some insight, the truth of the matter is that there is a difference between having an idea of what potentially could be going inside his head and really being good at parenting this boy of mine.  As both a parent and educator, I am always looking for tips and suggestions that might help me become a better teacher for our boys at school and a better parent for both my sons and daughter.  When I first started working at Stuart Hall there were very few books dedicated to raising/educating boys especially in comparison with the plethora on raising girls (e.g Reviving Ophelia, Queen Bees & Wannabees, etc.).  Within the past couple of years several books focusing on boys have hit the market.  Some of the best ones are Raising Cain and It’s a Boy.  The most recent addition, Masterminds & Wingmen: Helping our Boys Cope with Schoolyard Power, Locker-Room Tests, Girlfriends, and the New Rules of Boy World comes from Rosalind Wiseman, author of Queen Bees & Wannabes.  I have just started reading the book and have already come across a few good insights.  One that vexes us many of us raising boys, is how do we get them to talk…especially when they hit those pubescent years.  Wiseman has some good suggestions to address this question and many others (either read the book or check out one of the sources below for the short answer).  As the community charged with raising our children I think it’s helpful to have active dialog around these relevant topics so that we can better support one another.  In this vein, I invite you to join me in reading this book – if there is enough interest perhaps I can host a book discussion group for those interested in participating.  To provide a little more context on the book’s focus, click on the hotlink for a short interview with the author and a book review.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

